In the Present Tense

a Critical Look at our Immediate Culture

Holding Pattern

leave a comment »

So, if you are looking at dates on these posts, you’ll notice I haven’t been keeping up of late. There are a number of reasons for this. Here’s the long and short of it all…

This space has lain dormant for a little while now, in part because I was gearing up for the 2012 gallery season to kick in while working on a longer writing project last summer. Once the fall season hit, so did Hurricane Sandy, which threw everyone’s schedules up in the air, as well as our ability to move around through the city. Then coming in to the new year, I had a curatorial project for TSA Gallery (which opened in November 2012 and which I actively help to run and program) and my own exhibitions lined up, so this took something of a backseat.

Rest assured, I’ve really wanted to get back to these ideas and this space, but it hasn’t quite worked out the way I had planned. I am, however, working out another project that won’t come to fruition until next year, and this new project will include a good deal more writing and engagement with certain works, so the ideas happening here will definitely be continuing, but as a different creature. More on that later.

For now, you can get a sense of some things I’ve been doing and viewing through the drawing subscription blog, which in addition to being the major archive for the yearly drawing subscriptions, also acts as a platform for other shows, editions, and things I’m coming across that directly influence the studio.

I’ve gotten a lot of great feedback from these ideas and once the new project is ready, I will definitely let you all know. Thanks for your support.

Written by presenttensecriticism

June 24, 2013 at 12:54 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

